Buckhead Black Friday Holiday Traffic Got You Stressed? Don’t Be! BCID Increases Traffic Officer Program

 In News, Press Releases

Buckhead Black Friday Holiday Traffic Got You Stressed? Don’t Be!

BCID Increases Traffic Officer Program

Seventh year of program increases number of patrols starting Black Friday through January 1

Atlanta – Nov. 13, 2018 – Black Friday should be a breeze in Buckhead this year. The Buckhead Community Improvement District’s (CID) Holiday Traffic Officer Program will launch for the 2018 shopping season on Black Friday, November 23 and run through January 1. The holiday traffic officer program focuses on helping traffic move more efficiently during peak rush hour times by keeping the intersections clear when drivers are entering or exiting shopping malls, offices or retail developments. This year, the CID has added three more patrolled locations to help ease traffic, along Stratford, Lenox Road and the Buckhead Loop.

Created seven years ago in an effort to help ease holiday traffic in one of the busiest shopping districts in Atlanta, the Buckhead CID funds and manages the deployment of additional off-duty Atlanta Police Department (APD) traffic officers in main congested locations.

“We want to do our part to help residents and visitors coming to Buckhead’s shops, restaurants and hotels to have an enjoyable and unforgettable experience,” said Jim Durrett, Buckhead CID executive director. “Our recently finished complete street along E. Paces Ferry Road, which includes a multi-use trail and pedestrian crossing signals from Roxboro Road to the Gordon C. Bynum pedestrian bridge, will also make it easier for pedestrians to access Lenox Mall and the nearby MARTA station when shopping,” he added.

Officers will be posted at road intersections that correlate to Lenox Square Mall and Phipps Plaza, and also will include:

  • Peachtree Road at Lenox Road
  • Peachtree Road at Lenox Parkway
  • Peachtree at Stratford
  • Lenox Road at E. Paces Ferry Road
  • Peachtree Road at Monarch/Mall Entrance
  • Lenox Road at Kingsboro Road
  • Lenox Road at Wright Avenue
  • Peachtree at Oak Valley
  • Buckhead Loop

This year’s holiday traffic officer schedule will be:

DAY DATES TIMES
Friday November 23 noon to 9 p.m.
Saturday November 24 2 to 8 p.m.
Friday November 30 4 to 7 p.m.
Saturday December 1 2 to 8 p.m.
Friday December 7 4 to 7 p.m.
Saturday December 8 noon to 8 p.m.
Thursday December 13 4 to 7 p.m.
Friday December 14 4 to 8 p.m.
Saturday December 15 noon to 9 p.m.
Sunday December 16 2 to 8  p.m.
Monday December 17 3 to 9 p.m.
Tuesday December 18 3 to 9 p.m.
Wednesday December 19 3 to 9 p.m.
Thursday December 20 1 to 9 p.m.
Friday December 21 11 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Saturday December 22 11 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Sunday December 23 10 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Monday December 24 11 a.m. to 9 p.m.
Wednesday December 26 11 a.m. to 8 p.m.
Saturday December 29 noon to 8 p.m.
Monday December 31 2 to 6 p.m.
Tuesday January 1 2 to 6 p.m.

About Buckhead CID
The objective of the Buckhead Community Improvement District (BCID), working with the City of Atlanta and its community partners, is to meet the challenges resulting from Buckhead’s rapid, primarily automobile-based growth, including improving safety, traffic mobility, enhancing the pedestrian environment, creating better access to public transit, initiating intra-district transportation alternatives, encouraging better integration of land uses and improving linkages to the region’s automobile, transit and bicycle networks.

 #

 Media contact:
Maggie McDaniel, communications 21
mmcdaniel@c21pr.com
(404) 814-1330

 

Recent Posts